Posted by & filed under Uncategorized.

Myhill Trophy and Cullington Cup


A day of mixed fortunes for the teams involved in these competitions…


Captained on the day by Dave Ashton, the Cullington team travelled to Eaton. Being last year’s beaten finalists, this fixture was always going to be hard and tough competition they turned out to be. The Eaton team played solidly in the morning session and with Swaffham not entirely firing on all cylinders, they won all 4 matches and built a commanding lead of 21 holes at lunch. In the afternoon session Swaffham fared much better winning 2 matches but despite a determined effort could not reduce the deficit conceding a further 2 holes overall.


Dave and I would like to pass on our gratitude to Ian Livingstone, Ben Hornigold, Tony Martin, Mervin Aho, Arlo Smith, John Leadbetter, Tom Grass and Colin Stacey for representing Swaffham Golf Club, and for giving their absolute best – just not to be on the day…


The Myhill Team, led by Brian Fenn and playing at home to Middleton Hall, were given a tough test but doggedly stuck to the task to win overall on the day by 7 holes. Halfway through the morning session Swaffham led by 8, but Middleton came back to reduce the deficit to 1 hole at lunch. The afternoon session was a repeat of the morning and by the time the last group reached the 15th tee, a draw was potentially likely…but the team dug in and bounced back to secure the required holes to take victory!


The Myhill Team


Congratulations from Brian and myself to Roger Garrod, John Shapland, Kevin Markiewicz, Jason Hulme, Kevin Langley, David Meade, Neil Franklin and Dave Smith. Well played gentleman and our reward in the next round is home to Hunstanton on Sunday 18 June.


Also I would like to thank Stacey and Bernie Weeks, Phil Patience, Bob Woodward, Ralph Rix and Glenn Head for their support on the day and any others that I may not have seen in the morning!


Thank you once again for your support and enjoy your golf.


Ian Lake

Men’s Captain