Posted by & filed under Uncategorized.

Swaffham were playing in the final of the Norfolk Ladies County Gillieson Trophy, for the first time since 1976, when they finished runners-up – as they had done in 1960 and 1973. They were playing against Bawburgh, who  went into the final with a good recent record, having lifted the cup as recently as 2014 and finished runners-up in 2012.

Swaffham ladies won the decisive match at the 20th hole at Thetford to clinch a dramatic 2-1 win over Bawburgh and win Norfolk’s top club knock-out competition for the very first time.

An exciting final all came down to the top encounter between Swaffham’s Abigail O’Riordan and Jane York and Bawburgh’s Jane Winsworth and Jo Barnard, with the second and third matches having already been completed with one win apiece.

Winsworth and Barnard were three down after 11 holes but won the 18th to take the final to extra time.

With the tension mounting the 19th was halved in three but with their opponents finding trouble O’Riordan and York finally secured victory by taking the second extra hole with a par four.